Fix BDM so it can MERGE items rather than overwrite them...

Sean McP's picture
Sean McP
Status: 
Accepted

BDM currently only overwrites the previous ones. This is dreadful in it's implementation.

BDM needs to be 'non-zipped' and built as other resources and allowed the freedom it deserves.

This applies to Studio and Portal.

Thanks and regards
Seán

Comments

Submitted by bakhshayesh on Sun, 02/21/2016 - 17:20

Yes I have this problem too:
When I want to import a process if I import its Business Data Model, my old Business Data Model is overwritten and deleted.
How can I import a process and its Business Data Objects and also save my old Business Data Objects?
I mean how can I save my old Business Data Objects and also import the imported process Business Data Objects?
Thanks

Submitted by Riet1939 on Fri, 02/26/2016 - 11:51

Got the same problem too !
I dont even understand how this could have been done this way.

Submitted by jnsouza on Sun, 02/28/2016 - 23:42

The same with me. I am not using bdm because of this.

Submitted by jnsouza on Sun, 02/28/2016 - 23:42

The same with me. I am not using bdm because of this.

Submitted by Rallegre on Tue, 04/26/2016 - 15:15

Hi guys,

indeed this is a known issue and I am informing you that we have decided to select it as a roadmap candidate for our next product release. I'll keep you informed.
Raphaël

Submitted by cldrzdz on Sun, 05/01/2016 - 01:05

Hello:

Here you have the solution we use to work arround this isue.

As you will can see the BDM on studio is a zip file named bdm.zip.

You will can find this file on this location:

StudioInstalationFolder\workspace\RepositoryName\bdm\bdm.zip

if you unzip this file, you are going to find another file called bom.xml

This last file contains the bdm structure in a human readable format. I could explain something about that, but I suggest you see this structure by yourself.

When you are familiarized with bom.xml structure do so:

  1. You Can export the BDM directly from Studio by menu /Development/Business Data Model/Export. You will get the bdm.zip file

  2. Unzip bdm.zip and obtein bom.xml file

  3. Edit bom.xml file and copy just the definition you want to share, send or save

  4. When you export the process unchek "Business Object" and BDM definition will not go with exported process.

  5. When you import the process you will not have the new bdm definition.

  6. Now shut down Studio

  7. Goto unzip StudioInstalationFolder\workspace\RepositoryName\bdm\bdm.zip

  8. edit your current bom.xml file and merge manually the copied part in point 3 of this instructions.

  9. Save the merged bom.xml file.

  10. zip bom.xml file

  11. preserve a copy of bdm.zip file for backup

  12. rename ziped file on point 10 to bdm.zip

  13. Run Studio again

  14. Inmediatly you have Studio running go to /Development/Business Data Model/Manage and click on "Finish" buton. It will re-create the merged version of bdm

I know it is a really intrincated way to work arraund the problem, but it works for me.

Just thing you my to save separatly process.bos file and bdm.zip file.

In the case of server side the problem is quite diferent but it can be managed..

Well, what happend wen a bdm on engine is updated....so, all additions in data model will be automatically updated...but all modificated and deleted data will remain without change. Then you can do the changes over bdm database and need to put manually the new .jar file with object definitions...Both things with engine shutted down.

Claudio

Submitted by the.shirini on Sun, 05/07/2017 - 09:26

Hi Claudio,

That is very good solution and worked for me too.

Best Regards

Testing
Notifications