How to populate a Table Widget in Bonita 7.4.2 from a REST API Call?

I am a newbie at using Bonita for the automation of a customer onboarding process and wish to display the customers from REST API call which is powered by MySQL Server.

Currently, my approach is to bind the content of the table to a variable that contains JavaScript code to make the REST API call and return the response.

When I try to execute the form with this approach, it gives me the following error:
Uncaught DOMException: Failed to construct 'WebSocket': The URL 'wsockets/254/4v399h8_/websocket' is invalid.

I am unable to understand why this error is showing up.

The code snippet for retrieving the result from API Call is as follows:
var xhr = new XMLHttpRequest();
xhr.open('GET', 'http://xxxx.xx:xxxx/los/v1/fetch_retailers_list', true);
xhr.setRequestHeader('Authorization', '');
xhr.setRequestHeader('Content-Type', "application/x-www-form-urlencoded");
xhr.send();
var response = null;
if (xhr.status == 200){
response = JSON.parse(xhr.responseText);
}
return response;

Any guidance on this issue is greatly appreciated as I have been struggling to get this completed.
There is another way to get the output in a tabular widget - using a DB Connector. I know how to configure a connector (MySSQL, for instance) but how to process the response from it and display it in the table widget.

Thanks in advance.

1 answer

This one is the BEST answer!

I think you are confusing two things, notably because of the error:

Uncaught DOMException: Failed to construct 'WebSocket': The URL 'wsockets/254/4v399h8_/websocket' is invalid.

I think you are trying to execute this in the UI Preview? If so then this will not work as there is no background service for the REST call to talk to. This is indicated by the WebSocket error. The web server is not available.

This will not happen when you are executing the process, as in RUN the process.